Check out this great snippet written by Rob McCarty, a graduate with the Class of 2013 and Business Major. He does and excellent job explaining how his time at St. Michael’s has helped him get to where he is now. Rob works for Staples Advantage.

“As a graduate of the the Class of 2013, I am constantly reminded of my time and experiences at Saint Michael’s. When I was a student, I was lucky enough to be a member of the Men’s Baseball Team for two years, an Orientation Leader for three and I was able to perform over a dozen times at Turtle Underground with the bank that I am still a part of, B2C. The relationships, sense of community and values that I developed while attending St. Mike’s are still a major part of who I am.

The academic workload was a difficult adjustment form high school early on in my transition to St. Michael’s, but it forced me to become as efficient as possible when it comes to time management — a skill that has significantly helped me as I continue to develop my career with Staples.

As I approach the beginning of my third year as a Business-to-Business Sales Consultant for Staples Advantage (our commercial division), I am responsible for generating new business by partnering with small-mid size businesses in the Metro South Area of Boston. While people traditionally think of us as just an office supply company, many people are surprised to hear that we are the nation’s leading Janitorial/Breakroom Supplier, Commercial Furniture dealer and can supply just about anything a company requires to operate with our product assortment of over 500,000 SKUs.

My typical week consists of two days in the office taking care of administrative work and setting up appointments, and the other three days are spent in the field attending meetings. I am responsible for my own schedule and am constantly challenged to make the most of the “money hours,” or the time when customers are buying. The time management skills I developed at St. Michael’s while balancing academics, baseball, music and my job as a waiter at Sweetwaters, have helped my development and success with Staples.”

Leave a Reply

